Small Business Certification Process

University of California has a goal of 25% small business utilization for overall annual contract dollars.

Accepted Certification Categories

UCLA accepts all US government issued certifications in the following categories:

  • Small Business
  • Small Disadvantaged Business
  • Woman Owned Business
  • Veteran Owned Business
  • Service Disabled Veteran Owned Business
  • LGBTQ Owned Business
  • Minority Owned Business
  • 8 (a) Business Development
  • HUBZone

Certification Agencies

The following agencies offer certification process free of charge:

Federal System for Award Management 

  • Eligibility requirement and benefits
  • Available Certifications: Small Business, Small Disadvantaged Business, Woman Owned Small Business, Economically Disadvantaged Woman Owned Business, 8 (a) Business Development, HUBZone, Service Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business
  • Note: Please make sure you do not choose private registration, which means that other entities cannot find you in the system and confirm your certified status.


California Department of General Services Cal eProcure


California Public Utilities Commission


US Department of Veteran Affairs


Small Business Certification Benefits

  • 25% government-wide contracting goal for small business utilization
  • Eligible for small business set-aside and federal contracts
  • Application of a five percent small business preference on applicable State solicitations 
  • Placement in governmental databases
  • Placement on Small Business List (UCLA)